Skip to content

Creating Space and Home Wherever We Are

February 5, 2011

So I have been thinking about writing this post (well..this topic) ever since I wrote about the Dutch Masters.  Today is the perfect day for it because Today, I woke up to the serene light of part sun, part snow flurries and the tranquility of a quiet house on a Saturday morning where even the sound of traffic couldn’t broach the stillness.  So wonderful!  Just heavenly!

The Sweet Home

Expansive space

Gives an air

Of delicacy

and calm

As though the thoughts of many

Rest

And expand

Upon shafts of light

And dreams

Can rise into the air

Like the smells of bread

And lavender buds

And across the planks of floor

Bare feet tread

With surety

Of step

Knowing that every pace

Is met

With joy

And love

And the garden

Is but another step

Beyond the threshold

And mountains

Plains

And fields

Await those who wander

While the light of home

And the peace within

Will always welcome the foot-weary wanderer

Home

Again


The play of light, the sounds of home, the smells, the people, the way we put together our lives all seem to play a role in what makes us feel “at home.”  Have you ever looked at an architecture magazine?  Or one of the “[adjective] homes” publications?  Maybe found an image, a room, a setup to be so inviting, you just wanted to jump through the page?  I know I certainly have!  To me, my home is my space; a place of solitude and warmth that I can find or create no matter where I am.  On bad days it’s a refuge from the stresses of life and on good days, an inviting space that nurtures my creativity and my work as well as helping me bring folks together for a grand old time.  Whether traveling or settling down, I find that the aspects of space and how I create it have a powerful impression on how I experience the world.  Brings to mind a quote from the Upanishads:

“What is within is also without. What is without is also within. He who sees difference between what is within and what is without goes evermore from death to death.”*

I raise my glass of morning tea to the idea and creation of home!  How we construct it, how we find it, and what we make of it!

Citation: *The Upanishads, Breath of the Eternal, trans. Swami Prabhavananda and Frederick Manchester, (Hollywood: Vedanta Press, 1975), Swetasvatara Upanishad, 32. Thank you to Vendantic Shores Press for the exact citation!

One Comment leave one →
  1. tigger permalink
    February 7, 2011 6:48 pm

    i love that photograph! there’s something so home-y about the lighting. the soft greens remind me of the ocean.

Leave a Reply

