Skip to content

Living Life to the Fullest! The inspirational words of one Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

March 15, 2011

I have only recently introduced myself to the many works of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.  It seems almost a crime for one who went to school in the USA to have entirely missed out on this most reknowned of American writers.  However, better late than never!  And perhaps I might not have appreciated his work quite as much if I’d been forced to read it at a younger age.

I have found his poetry to be both beautiful and moving.  I’m slowly making my way through a Modern Library collection,”Poems of Longfellow,” the edition circa 1949.  The first time I read “The Ride of Paul Revere,” I found myself reading quickly with bated breath as the story unfolded with the kind suspense and intrigue only a master storyteller can imbue.  Just one of a wealth of amazing works.  I would like to leave you with some words from his “Psalm of Life.”  I found them wonderfully inspirational.

 

Life is real! Life is earnest!

And the grave is not its goal;

“dust thou art, to dust returnest, ”

Was not spoken of the soul.


Not enjoyment, and not sorrow,

Is our destined end or way;

But to act, that each to-morrow

Finds us farther than today.

–Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

