Skip to content

The Words of Rumi or How the Rose Inspires the Depth of Friendship

March 30, 2011

Rose of Eureka II, originally uploaded by creativeisthmus.

What was whispered to the rose
To break it open
Last night
Was whispered to my heart.
–Rumi

I ran across this quote by Rumi some time ago and I absolutely love the meaning, the essence of this phrase. Some sentiments to me are so potent, so true that they practically have a taste to them. These words to me taste like the sweetness of dawn and fresh dew glowing with the light of a new day like so many gems of stardust sprinkled across the earth. This quote speaks to me of hope, of love and of epiphany–the greatness of understanding that can come in the most unannounced of manners.

Today, I ran across this second quote from Rumi:

Stop learning.
Start knowing.
The rose opens
And opens
And when it falls
Falls outward.
–Rumi

This one struck me as well–what can I say? Rumi is renowned for a reason!–and I find here an encapsulated expression of truth for what an open heart can really mean for oneself and for the world. When the heart is open, compassion, love, friendship, joy, empathy and the full song of the human experience can pour forth into the world and into all we do. The petals of the rose may fall as the bud opens but the petals fall outward to touch all that we do in our lives.

How much more beautiful a sentiment can one find? How much more sincere and delicate a metaphor?

For nothing I have experienced is truly as sweet, true and delicate as the human heart in all it’s tossing, turning, caring beauty. I’m not talking Romeo and Juliet melodrama here, I’m talking the heart that comes into phrases like “the heart of the matter” and “pouring out one’s heart” or “putting your heart into it.” The heart that is a portal for the essence of human love and caring, the conduit for the work of the soul and the heart that transcends the moment, transcends boundaries of gender, nation, age and race and directs the ever flowing current at the center of human compassion that never ceases to amaze me.

When I think of the heart and the opening of the heart, this is what I am referring to.

There are moments when I feel the opening of my own heart, my own soul touched and drawn forth by the words, the experience, the connections with another human being and at times even the greater natural world. These moments are poignant for me in their veracity and have a way of shifting my perspective, my outlook on the world. They move me to new places of understanding and all I can do is sit in the stillness of the beauty of life and be grateful for the wonder that abounds all around me.

So beautiful, so true, so much the essence of love.
Thank you.

 

More Rumi Quotes Here and also daily Quotes and Poems.

One Comment leave one →
  1. tigger permalink
    April 3, 2011 8:36 pm

    rumi’s quote reminds of a sermon by someone here. she said, “write God’s word upon your heart. He asks us to do that, knowing that when our hearts break, the words will fall in.”

Leave a Reply

