Skip to content

The Notion of Both And

January 5, 2014

I recently had a zing of inspiration to create art. Full sized, throw myself into it ART! Though i had fallen out of the habit, painting and constructing large scale art has always been a great release for me. Visiting MoMA in NYC over the holidays reminded me of this joy and I came back to the Great North tingling with anticipation to create!

What does this have to do with the title “both and”? Well! So often in life I have found myself limited by thinking that I can only have or do A or B but not both! As though somehow choosing one forever closed the door on the other. Not true! Though life shows me again and again that more is possible than my limited mind could comprehend, I occasionally find myself in these boxes of self-made limitation.

This is where the art comes in! The nature of art and the sheer fact that I can create beautiful art while still diving into rigorous science on a daily basis helps shift me out of these narrow thoughts. It is a question of embracing abundance and art is like the earthquake that shakes me out of a rut, sometimes destroying the rut altogether!

If the limited thoughts sound familiar–try stepping into creating in your media of choice (I always enjoy full hand painting! Don’t even need a brush!) or even go visit a gallery or art museum–see what happens.

Thank Goodness for Art!
Here’s to the unlimited, the large, the possible, the abundant!

My painting–“You Already Have Everything You Need” or “The Forest of My Heart”

20140105-140252.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. nadene permalink
    January 6, 2014 7:18 pm

    I love the creation!

Leave a Reply

